Rockwood School District
111 East North Street, Eureka, MO 63025
Phone (636) 733-2000 · Fax (636) 733-8851
No content found

Rockwood Students Chosen as Semi-finalists for National Merit Scholarships


​Forty-two Rockwood high school ​students have been chosen as
 2018 National Merit Scholarship semi-finalists.​

The National Merit Scholarship Program honors individual students who show exceptional academic ability and potential for success in rigorous college studies.

The following Rockwood high school students have qualified as semi-finalists for the 2018 National Merit Scholarship: 

Alexander Adler - Marquette 
Ganasri Aleti - Marquette 
Mohammed Arif - Lafayette 
Christopher Bakker - Lafayette 
Lauren Bayne - Marquette 
Ashley Bendl - Marquette 
Jacob Besch - Marquette 
Cameron Crews - Rockwood Summit 
Brooke Davis - Marquette 
Kartik Deshpande - Marquette 
Varun Devraj - Marquette 
Alannah Fitzmaurice - Lafayette 
Adeesya Gausper - Lafayette 
Nicole Goodman - Marquette 
Kashish Gupta - Lafayette 
Yijin Huang - Marquette 
Kyle Heard - Marquette 
Natalie Heath - Marquette 
Nathan Humphrey - Rockwood Summit 
Nilay Jakati - Marquette 
Fatou Kane - Rockwood Summit 
Stephen Kneer - Rockwood Summit 
Sanjana Kumar - Lafayette 
Madison Lakamp - Marquette 
Anna Larsen - Rockwood Summit 
Jerry Li - Marquette 
Emily Liu - Lafayette 
Ethan Lumbantobing - Lafayette 
Lucas Martins - Marquette 
Amanda Mittanck - Marquette 
Sujay Murali - Marquette 
Graysen Owenby - Marquette 
Rachel Pang - Marquette 
Amisha Paul - Lafayette 
Jason Schibler - Marquette 
Ashley Shaw - Lafayette 
Luke Stange - Rockwood Summit 
Kyle Tournillon - Marquette 
Anthony Tran - Rockwood Summit 
Elvis Wei - Lafayette 
Muyue Yang - Marquette 
Maxwell Yu - Rockwood Summit 

The organization's website indicates that in early September, about 16,000 students, or approximately one-third of the 50,000 high scorers, are notified that they have qualified as semifinalists. To ensure that academically talented young people from all parts of the United States are included in this talent pool, semifinalists are designated on a state-representational basis. They are the highest scoring entrants in each state. NMSC provides scholarship application materials to semifinalists through their high schools. To be considered for a National Merit Scholarship, semifinalists must advance to finalist standing in the competition by meeting high academic standards and all other requirements explained in the information provided to each semifinalist.