• Guided by Missouri state standards for pre-kindergarten education and by prevailing theory and research on how children learn, the Rockwood Preschool curriculum emphasizes the development of children’s thinking, reasoning, decision making, and problem-solving abilities. The Rockwood Curriculum Coordinators also provided guidance and input to ensure that kindergarten readiness skills are addressed. The curriculum outlines essential skills in the following seven learning domains:

    • Approaches to Learning
    • Social/Self-Help Regulation
    • Fine and Gross Motor
    • Language and Literacy
    • Representational Development
    • Mathematics Processes
    • Science Processes

    The Rockwood Preschool curriculum engages children actively ensuring that children have opportunities to make meaningful choices and interact with objects and people in experimentation and exploration.

    You may read more in-depth in Alignment of Essential Learning Standards with Experiences in the Classroom which provides a listing of the Essential Learning Standards in each domain along with a grid indicating where the Essential Learning Standards may be targeted within a child’s classroom experiences.