Teaching and Learning Cycle

  • The teaching and learning cycle used in Rockwood classrooms is designed to focus on the individual needs of each learner. The cycle focuses on the four critical questions that teacher teams answer as they plan and implement learning experiences.

    Phase 1: What Is It We Want Our Students to Know and Be Able to Do?

    The curriculum documents and corresponding proficiency scales developed by each curriculum writing team clearly define what we want students to know, understand, and do.

    1. Getting Started
    2. Building Blocks to Mastery
    3. Mastery
    4. Exceeding Mastery


    Teach the curriculum


    Phase 2: How Will We Know If Each Student Has Learned It?

    Using various data resources (such as pre-assessments, student self-assessments, background data, and classroom formative assessments) we determine:

    • Which learning targets have students mastered?
    • Which learning targets require (re)teaching?
    • Is enrichment necessary?



    Utilize proficiency scales and curricular resources



    Phase 3: How will we respond?

    When some students have not learned it...

    Using what you have learned about your students both personally and academically, what is the best way to (re)teach learning targets not yet mastered?

    When some students have mastered it...

    Are the opportunities that can be provided for students to take their learning to a deeper level?


    Is it an essential course outcome?


    Phase 4: Intervention


    Where do I start?

    1. Evaluate
    2. Reteach
    3. Reassess
    4. Repeat


    Teachers will:

    • Record student progress so far using the proficiency scale.
    • Move on to teach other course outcomes.
    • Adjust student proficiency as their mastery level changes throughout the course.

    How do we extend the learning for students who have demonstrated mastery?


    Phase 4: Extension

    Create personalized opportunities for students to apply, synthesize, and/or evaluate their learning.