Skip To Main Content

Logo Image

Rockwood School District

Logo Title

Missouri Assessment Program (MAP)

Students listen in class

The Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) is designed to measure how well students acquire the skills and knowledge described in the Missouri Learning Standards (MLS). The assessments yield information on academic achievement at the student, class, school, district and state levels. This information is used to diagnose individual student strengths and weaknesses in relation to the instruction of the MLS, and to gauge the overall quality of education throughout Missouri.

Grade-Level assessments in English language arts and mathematics are given at grades 3-8 and science in grades 5 and 8.

In addition, districts must ensure that students complete End-of-Course (EOC) assessments in Algebra I, English II, Biology, and Government prior to high school graduation. For students who complete the Algebra I EOC assessment prior to high school, Algebra II is the required high school mathematics assessment for accountability purposes.

The MAP Alternate (MAP-A) is administered to students with the most significant cognitive disabilities who meet grade level and eligibility criteria that are determined by the student's Individualized Education Program (IEP) team using eligibility established by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE).

Historical outcomes for Rockwood and Missouri through changes in State Standards and Assessment