Skip to Main Content
Rockwood School District 2019 Niche Best Schools

111 East North Street, Eureka, MO 63025 | Phone (636) 733-2000 | Fax (636) 733-8851

More Than 40 Rockwood Students Named National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists

A total of 47 students representing all four Rockwood high schools have been named National Merit Scholarship semifinalists.


Each spring, the National Merit Scholarship Corporation offers more than $31 million in scholarship assistance to 7,600 high school seniors around the nation who exhibit outstanding academic, testing and extracurricular credentials. Of the more than 1.5 million juniors who took the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test last fall, about 16,000 are chosen as National Merit Scholarship semifinalists. 

A total of 47 students representing all four Rockwood School District high schools have been named semifinalists for the 2020 round of National Merit Scholarships. They include:

Lucy Besch, Marquette​
Atharva Bhagwat, Eureka​
Nikhil Boddu, Marquette
Joycie Chang, Marquette
Alex Cho, Marquette
Ether Dharmesh, Marquette
Mason Divine, Lafayette
Frederick Durer, Marquette​
Abigail Grace, Marquette
Erin Griffin, Rockwood Summit
Erin Gwaltney, Eureka
Connor Hallemann, Eureka
Arjun Hiren, Marquette
Kyan Ho, Eureka
Kavya Jain, Marquette
Zachary Jansma, Eureka
Steven Karst, Marquette
Ryan Kee, Marquette
Sriya Kosaraju, Marquette
Nikhil Krishnan, Rockwood Summit
Jenna Krueger, Rockwood Summit
Geoffrey Ladue, Lafayette
Ethan Leslie, Lafayette
Jessica Li, Marquette
Claire Lister, Lafayette
Mansi Mamidi, Marquette
Jessica Norman, Marquette​
Kate Pogue, Marquette
Max Schoening, Lafayette
Trevor Spiniolas, Rockwood Summit
Zoe Spriggs, Lafayette
Zachary Streicher, Marquette
Alita Sunil, Marquette
Austin Taschler, Lafayette
Abigail Tomlinson, Eureka
Vyomesh Tripathi, Marquette
Fiona Walsh, Eureka
Malayka Walton, Lafayette
Peter Youn, Marquette
Rachel Yue, Marquette
Hans Zassenhaus, Marquette
Claire Zhang, Marquette
Kailin Zhang, Marquette
Kevin Zhou, Marquette
Maxwell Zhu, Marquette

To become a finalist, semifinalists must submit a detailed scholarship application, in which they provide information about their academic record, participation in school and community activities, demonstrated leadership abilities, employment and honors and awards received. A semifinalist must have an outstanding academic record throughout high school, be endorsed and recommended by a high school official, write an essay, and earn SAT or ACT scores that confirm the student’s earlier performance on the qualifying test. 

From the approximately 16,000 semifinalists, about 15,000 advance to the finalist level and are notified in February. All National Merit Scholarship winners will be selected from this group of finalists. Merit Scholar designees are selected on the basis of their skills, accomplishments and potential for success in rigorous college studies, without regard to gender, race, ethnic origin, or religious preference.​