Skip To Main Content

Logo Image

Rockwood School District

Logo Title

Blevins, Eureka Elementary, Lafayette Named State Schools of Character

Blevins, Eureka Elementary, Lafayette Named State Schools of Character

Blevins Elementary, Eureka Elementary and Lafayette High have been named 2024 state-level Schools of Character by

The three Rockwood School District schools are among 87 schools nationally to earn State School of Character distinction this year, along with one District of Character and two International Schools of Character.

They are among 15 Schools of Character from the state of Missouri. CharacterPlus is the Missouri affiliate for the State Schools of Character process and evaluates all Missouri schools and districts who apply.

This is the third time Blevins has earned State School of Character distinction, the second time for Lafayette and the first time for Eureka.

Rockwood students and staff members smile in a music classroom.

“We are very excited to receive this honor for State Schools of Character this year,” said Eureka Principal Dr. Corinne Luczak. “We have worked hard to instill a sense of belonging at Eureka Elementary, and feel we have a very strong and supportive school and home community connection.” certifies schools and districts each year at the state level that have developed and implemented an intentional, proactive, and comprehensive approach that embeds character into all aspects of the school life. Criteria for selection are based on’s “11 Principles Framework,” which includes key indicators centered on creating a caring school community where everyone feels they belong; providing students with opportunities to practice and reflect on their character strengths; and engaging families and communities as partners in the school’s character initiative.

These schools and districts are now under consideration for’s highest distinction – National School of Character. Since its inception,’s Schools of Character program has positively impacted nearly 3 million students, staff, parents and other community members. The 2024 National Schools of Character will be announced in May and honored at the International Forum in the fall.

Rockwood students smile in front of a bulletin board in their school hallway.

“We are deeply honored and grateful to receive the School of Character recognition. This recognition is not just a testament to our incredible staff but also a reflection of the values and principles instilled in our students,” said Blevins Principal Dr. Hector Ramirez. “Receiving the School of Character Award motivates us to continue embodying the values of our Bobcat PRIDE statement in all aspects of life. We are committed to upholding the standards set by this prestigious recognition and being a positive influence within our school and beyond."

Schools of Character earn the designation for five years, at which point they can re-apply for consideration.

In all, 24 Rockwood schools and programs have been named State Schools of Character, and 21 have been named National Schools of Character. Kehrs Mill and Wild Horse elementary schools and LaSalle Springs Middle were named National Schools of Character last year.

Rockwood students and staff members smile in a hallway at their school.

“I am honored that Lafayette High School has been recognized as a State School of Character. This is a testament to everyone’s hard work,” said Lafayette Principal Dr. Karen Calcaterra. “This designation belongs to the outstanding Lafayette community comprising our students, staff and families. We believe that continuing to provide and foster an environment where being caring, committed and connected is essential to our work and creating a strong school community.”

Recent News Articles