Return to Headlines

Rockwood Students Named Candidates for U.S. Presidential Scholars Program

 Rockwood's US Presidential Scholars Program candidates smile in their school pictures.A total of 15 Rockwood School District students representing all four district high schools have been named candidates for the 2023 U.S. Presidential Scholars Program.

Each year, more than 4,000 students nationally are named candidates for this program from the pool of more than three million high school seniors from around the country. In the spring, up to 161 students from this group will be named as Presidential Scholars, one of the nation's highest honors for high school students.

This year, Rockwood contributes 15 of the 100 candidates from the state of Missouri. Marquette High (eight) is tied for second among state schools for number of candidates, and Lafayette High (five) is fifth.

The U.S. Presidential Scholars Program was established in 1964 to recognize and honor some of our nation's most distinguished graduating high school seniors. 

Students have the opportunity to become Presidential Scholars based on three paths of accomplishment. The majority of the scholars are selected on the basis of broad academic achievement, while other students are selected on the basis of their academic and artistic scholarship in the visual arts, the performing arts or creative writing and on the basis of their outstanding scholarship and accomplishment in career and technical education fields Selection for candiates in the academic achievement path is, for the most part, made based on SAT and ACT scores..

Congratulations to these outstanding Rockwood students!

  • Evan Canis, Marquette
  • Alex Chen, Marquette
  • Erica Chen, Lafayette
  • Lucy Dean, Marquette
  • Olivia Edwards, Eureka High
  • Cameron Eltoft, Lafayette
  • Diya Gupta, Lafayette
  • Mohid Idrees, Marquette
  • Lindsay Lee, Marquette
  • Joyce Liu, Marquette
  • Aarush Rajoli, Marquette
  • Shrutika Singh, Lafayette
  • Grace Steinmeyer, Rockwood Summit High
  • Samantha Zhang, Lafayette
  • Eloise Zhou, Marquette