Return to Headlines

Rockwood Athletics Roundup: May 25, 2023

May 25, 2023

As the spring sports season winds down, we wanted to spotlight some of our outstanding student-athletes and coaches for their accomplishments.

  • The Marquette High girls water polo team finished second in the state earlier this month. This is the third straight year the Mustangs have competed in the state championship game. During the season, the team also took first at two tournaments: the Founder's Cup and Lafayette tournaments. Nevaeh Kerber (1st-Team All Conference and All-District, Offensive Player of the Year), Erin Huff (2nd-Team All Conference, 1st-Team All District), Sydney Barkley (3rd-Team All Conference and All District) and Olivia Brzyski (Honorable Mention All District) also earned individual honors.  
  • The Eureka High girls lacrosse team has advanced to the State Final Four, where the Wildcats will take on MICDS on Thursday, May 25, at 5:30 p.m. on the campus of John Burroughs School for a spot in the state championship game.
  • The Lafayette High boys volleyball team is playing for the state title against Saint Louis University High School on Thursday, May 25, at 7 p.m. on the campus of Maryville University.
  • A total of 59 Rockwood students qualified as individuals and/or as part of relays for the MSHSAA State Track and Field Championships, which willl be held Friday and Saturday (May 26-27) in Jefferson City. Eureka, Lafayette and Marquette will compete in the Class 5 meet, and Rockwood Summit will compete in Class 4. Check below the photos for a list of all of Rockwood's qualifiers.

Congratulations to these students and their teams, and good luck to our Wildcat lacrosse and Lancer volleyball squads!

Members of the Marquette water polo team smile with their second-place stat trophy. Eureka lacrosse players and coaches smile on the field. Lafayette volleyball players smile in a group photo in the gym Rockwood's 22 boys qualifiers for State Track and Field smile in school photos. Rockwood's 37 girl qualifiers for State Track and Field smile in school photos.

MSHSAA State Track and Field Championships Qualifiers

Eureka High

  • Aidan Crews – 200m
  • Allen Brown III – 300m Hurdles
  • 4x200m Relay (Jordan Howlett, Josh Hotop, Allen Brown III and Aidan Crews)
  • 4x400m Relay (Josh Hotop, Jordan Howlett, Aidan Crews and Allen Brown III)
  • Carter Langenbacher – Pole Vault
  • Jordan Howlett – Triple Jump


  • Raegan Schnurbusch – 400m
  • 4x200m Relay (Payton Deakin, Maddie Seitz, Raegan Schnurbusch and Hannah Mitchell)
  • 4x400m Relay (Reagan Schnurbusch, Olivia Gentilini, Savanna Wylie and Payton Deakin)
  • 4x800m Relay (Olivia Pearce, Daphne Bishop, Kirra Dunscombe and Abby Smith)
  • Ayla Bishop – Pole Vault

Lafayette High

  • Jack Robeson – 3200m
  • Brycen Compton – 400m
  • 4x200m Relay (Marshall Ems, Matt Hoeft, Brycen Compton and David Marshall)
  • 4x400m Relay (Brycen Compton, Marshall Ems, Santino Stith and David Marshall)
  • 4x800m Relay (Dillon Cronin, Hongru Han, LJ Groenewald and Jack Robeson)
  • Jeremy Lewis – Discus


  • Grace Tyson – 1600m, 3200m
  • Natalie Barnard – 1600m, 3200m
  • Elissa Barnard – 1600m, 3200m
  • Layne Witherspoon – 300m Hurdles
  • Avery Brown – 400m
  • 4x400m Relay (Shrutika Singh, Lauren Pauls, Avery Brown and Layne Witherspoon)
  • 4x800m Relay (Natalie Barnard, Grace Tyson, Mizelle Groenewald and Avery Brown)
  • Emma Durfee – Javelin

Marquette High

  • Caleb Cody-Jackson – 400m
  • 4x800m Relay (Da’Shaun Anderson, Brady Lingafelter, John Winka and Willem Hummel)
  • Brigg Ernstrom – Javelin
  • Nathan McKay -- Javelin


  • Maleah Eggers – 1600m, 3200m
  • Trinity Gygi – Discus
  • Natalie Danner – Javelin

Rockwood Summit High

  • Christelle Barafundi – 100m, 200m
  • Barrett Jackson – 200m, 400m
  • Cate Rossomanno – 3200m
  • 4x100m Relay (Andrea Fountain, Kenzie Larson, Shea Turner and Christelle Barafundi)
  • 4x200m Relay (Shea Turner, Ali Sandler, Elliotte Stevens and Christelle Barafundi)
  • 4x400m Relay (Lilly Poplawski, Cara Cole, Shea Turner and Barrett Jackson)
  • 4x800m Relay (Ella Thier, Reese Martin, Cate Rossomanno and Mia Brown)
  • Reese Martin – 800m
  • Ava Mahlandt – Pole Vault