Return to Headlines

Three Rockwood Students Named to St. Louis Fed Student Board of Directors

 Rockwood students Abby Gayfield, Ansley Hails and Jorie Myers have been named to the student boardA trio of Rockwood School District students have been named to the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis Student Board of Directors for the 2021-2022 school year.

The Rockwood students are among 28 high school seniors from across the greater St. Louis area that have been selected to serve on the student board through a competitive application process, which includes an essay and letters of recommendation.

They are:

  • Abby Gayfield, Rockwood Summit High
  • Ansley Hails, Lafayette High
  • Jorie Myers, Marquette High

Students meet monthly and gain a thorough understanding of the Federal Reserve's role in the U.S. economy and learn about its unique partnerships with banks, businesses and the community.

“We’re delighted to welcome this outstanding group of teenagers as we commemorate the founding of the St. Louis Fed’s Student Board 10 years ago," Mary Suiter, assistant vice president and economic education officer at the St. Louis Fed, said in a press release. "We’ve seen our alumni go on to accomplish much, including two who have become St. Louis Fed employees."

Over the last decade, 82 percent of former student board members have launched careers in banking, finance or related industries.

Congratulations, Abby, Ansley and Jorie!