Return to Headlines

Rockwood High School Students Named National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists

 The Rockwood students who have been named National Merit Scholarship semifinalistsThis year, 25 students representing all four Rockwood high schools have been named semifinalists for the National Merit Scholarship Program.

Each year, approximately 16,000 high school seniors from around the nation are selected as semifinalists for this prestigious program, which gives them the opportunity to continue in the competition for some 7,500 National Merit Scholarships worth nearly $30 million that will be offered in the spring.

This pool of semifinalists represents less than 1 percent of all U.S. high school seniors.

Rockwood's National Merit Scholarship semifinalists are:

  • Aashish Allu, Lafayette High
  • Riya Aradhyula, Marquette High
  • Colin Bakker, Lafayette
  • Aneesh Batchu, Marquette
  • Josie Besch, Marquette
  • Himanth Bobba, Marquette
  • Grant Campbell, Lafayette
  • Driptaa Chakraborty, Marquette
  • Yoon Seo Chang, Marquette
  • Benjamin Cook, Marquette
  • Ansley Hails, Lafayette
  • Jennifer Li, Marquette
  • Jennifer Liu, Marquette
  • Lawrence Liu, Marquette
  • Anna Marren, Marquette
  • Landon Oelschlaeger, Lafayette
  • Hannah Ohms, Marquette
  • Allison Peng, Rockwood Summit High
  • Soham Saraf, Marquette
  • Michael Serrano, Rockwood Summit
  • Sujay Vadderaju, Marquette
  • Ben Wiseman, Eureka High
  • Anthony Yan, Rockwood Summit
  • Supraneeth Yedem, Marquette
  • Merrick Zheng, Lafayette

High school juniors entered the 2022 National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the 2020 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT®), which served as an initial screen of program entrants. The nationwide pool of semifinalists includes the highest-scoring entrants in each state.

From this group of semifinalists, around 15,000 will be selected as finalists in February, based on their academic record, participation in school and community activities, demonstrated leadership abilities, employment and honors and awards received.

Congratulations to these outstanding Rockwood students!

Four Eureka staff members congratulate student Ben Wiseman on his selection as a National Merit Scholarship semifinalist Six Lafayette High students have been named National Merit Scholarship semifinalists A dozen Marquette High National Merit Scholarship semifinalists smile in front of the school Three Rockwood Summit students have been named National Merit Scholarship semifinalists